April 27th, 2009
04:00 PM ET
4 years ago

States under federal oversight over voting procedures

WASHINGTON (CNN) – States covered by Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, requiring federal approval before any changes in election procedures can take effect:

States covered in full (8):
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas

State covered, with some exceptions (1):
Virginia (15 cities and counties are no longer required to submit changes
for approval)

States with only limited areas covered (7):
California (4 counties); Florida (5 counties); Michigan (2 townships); New Hampshire (10 townships); New York (3 of New York City's 5 boroughs); North Carolina (40 counties); South Dakota (2 counties)

– Compiled by CNN Supreme Court Producer Bill Mears

Filed under: Supreme Court
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.